What’s going on?
Violators could be charged with a misdemeanor, which could be punishable through citation or arrest, according to The Oregonian.
Brown said she will work with law enforcement to enforce the order.
“For the last eight months I have been asking Oregonians to follow the letter and the spirit of the law and we have not chosen to engage law enforcement,” Brown said, according to The Oregonian. “At this point in time, unfortunately, we have no other option.”
- Violators could face 30 days in jail.
- There could be a fine of $1,250.
- Some could face jail and a fine.
- Fox News reports the new rules do not include protests or gatherings at houses of worships.
The novel coronavirus continues to create spikes across the country, leading to record hospitalizations and deaths across several states as people head indoors because of the winter.
Due to the recent surge, multiple states have asked residents to stay home to help curb the spread, which I wrote about for the Deseret News. Those states include Nevada, Wisconsin, Utah, Iowa and Minnesota.