clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ski Hall of Fame inducts 6-member 'class of 2005'

This year's group of distinguished ski legends were a diverse group of builders, dreamers and teachers.

Late Wednesday, six names were officially placed in the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame during ceremonies at the Utah Olympic Park.

They were Jim Gaddis, Keith Lange, Lou Lorenz, M. Earl Miller, Neil Rafferty and Edgar Stern Jr.

This was the fourth class of entering inductees recognized for their contributions to skiing. The first class, introduced into the Joe Quinney Winter Sports Center, was seated in 2002.

The honor registry was started to recognize outstanding achievements in skiing, be they in areas of building or competition or teaching.

Three of the inductees were recognized at a dinner at the center Wednesday. Three were honored posthumously.

Gaddis was named Intermountain Ski Racer of the Year four times — 1957, 1958, 1962 and 1963. Five times during those years he was slalom, downhill and giant slalom division champion. He was captain of the University of Utah ski team three years and was named NCAA all-American in 1960 and 1962. Also during those years he won a number of national and local ski events.

In 1964, he founded Utah's first junior race program, Gaddis Training Organization, which would later become the Park City Ski Racing Foundation. He has served in a number of volunteer programs and on the board of a several foundations, including the Youth Winter Sports Alliance.

He was inducted into the Utah Sports Hall of Fame and the University of Utah Crimson Club Sports Hall of Fame in 1989.

Lange became a certified ski instructor in 1952 and served for 23 years as a board member of the Intermountain Ski Instructors Association and the Professional Ski Instructors Association. He was also a member of the ISIA demonstration team, served for a time as coach of the group and was on the PSIA's first American Ski Technique Demonstration Team.

He was selected to the PSIA Hall of Fame in 1995.

Lorenz started skiing in 1946 and entered the ski instructors program in 1953. He became a certified teacher in 1956. He taught skiing at Alta and Little Mountain for 10 years and founded the Greater Salt Lake Ski School, which offers ski instruction at Solitude and Gorgoza.

He joined the Park City program in 1970 and retired in 1998. He died in 2003.

Miller was ski school director at Snowbasin for 35 years. Among his duties was to coach the Weber State College ski team from 1964 to 1975.

He also taught the sport to recreational skiers and coached junior racers. He was also one of the founders of the ISIA and served on the board for many years. For 30 years he was an examiner in its certification program.

In 1973, he was named PSIA-Intermountain Ski School Director of the Year.

He died in 2000.

Rafferty arrived in Jackson Hole, Wyo., in 1930 with only 10 cents in his pocket. With a lot of technical know-how and imagination, he built the Snow King Ski Area in 1939, which was Wyoming's first ski area.

During the early years he help to develop favorable working relationships between ski areas and the U.S. Forest Service.

He was also credited with being a pioneer in the development of the ski patrol program, which is in existence today at ski areas around the world.

Over the years Snow King became a frequent and important stop in the Intermountain ski racing program.

He was given the Pioneer Award from the Intermountain Ski Area Association in 1988.

He died in 1995.

Stern was owner of the Treasure Mountain Ski Area, which is now Park City Mountain Resort, and was founder of Deer Valley.

In 1971, Stern purchased 7,000 acres of land in Park City, which included the Treasure Mountain resort. He would eventually sell off the resort, but kept the land.

In 1981, exercising his vision of a high-end, world-class resort, he opened Deer Valley, which was named the No. 1 ski area in North America this month by SKI magazine. This was the second time the resort has earned the No. 1 rating.

Stern is recognized for his vision of a high-class ski area and customer services, which included valet ski service, parking lot shuttles, on-site child care, complimentary ski check, immaculately groomed slopes and unmatched cuisine.

Along with being a venue for the 2002 Winter Olympics, host site of the slalom, freestyle aerials and moguls, the resort has been site of the World Freestyle Championships for three years.

Also recognized was Pepi Stiegler, longtime director of skiing at Jackson Hole, Wyo., who was named to the class of 2004 but was unable to attend the awards banquet.

The 2002 class consisted of Junior Bounous, Zane Doyle, Alf Engen, Sverre Engen, Karre "Corey" Engen, Gretchen Fraser, Averell Harriman and Joseph Quinney.

Those named in 2003 were Stein Eriksen, Bill Briggs and Axel Andreason.

And those named in 2004 were Stiegler, Alta Mayor George Watson, Suzy Harris Rytting, Bill Lash, Bill Spencer and Edward Scott.