clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Post Malone is hosting a live virtual tribute for this ’90s band from his home

Post Malone lives in Utah

Post Malone performs at Infinite Energy Center on Tuesday, March 3, 2020, in Atlanta. (Photo by Robb Cohen/Invision/AP)
Post Malone performs at Infinite Energy Center on Tuesday, March 3, 2020, in Atlanta. (Photo by Robb Cohen/Invision/AP)
Robb Cohen/Invision/AP

Post Malone will host a livestream, virtual concert to honor the ’90s band Nirvana on Friday.

  • Malone announced the broadcast Wednesday morning. He will “perform a set of Nirvana hits and fan favorites” during the show, which will air exclusively on YouTube.
  • The concert will run at 3 p.m. PST, 4 p.m. MDT, 6 p.m. EST and 11 p.m BST.
  • Money raised during the concert will go to the United Nations Foundation’s COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund for the World Health Organization, according to Rolling Stone. Google will match all donations up to $5 million. Proceeds go to the UN Foundation.
  • Malone is a noted Nirvana fan. He has a tattoo of the Nirvana song “Stay Away” on his forehead, for example.

Bigger picture:

  • Malone joins a wealth of artists and celebrities who have hosted virtual concerts and livestreams during the coronavirus pandemic.
  • Post Malone was set to tour at Vivint Arena as a part of his Post Malone Runaway Tour on March 21. The show was postponed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Post Malone’s Utah ties

  • Post Malone’s virtual concert will take place at his home, according Rolling Stone. Malone moved to Utah years ago and still resides in the Beehive State now. Post Malone has appeared in multiple Utah locations over the years, including a Target in Salt Lake City and Charlie’s Fried Chicken in Murray.
  • “I finally made the move out of LA and I moved to Utah. I feel like in LA and Hollywood there’s such a strange vibe to where there’s a lot of vampires,” he said in a brief clip found through Spotify’s Enhanced Album feature, as I wrote about for the Deseret News.
  • Malone told Variety that Utah helps him feel better about his anxiety, too. Utah frees him from stress, he said.
  • “I’d say since the beginning of middle school, I always felt like I was always anxious and kind of sad all the time, but I kind of came out of it,” he told Variety. “Being in Utah and being away from the grind and from everybody else and it’s just me with my video games and cold one that feels good to me.”