Facebook Twitter

Three Utah students named Presidential Scholars

Honorees include home-schooled student, student who attends Waterford School and Logan High student

SHARE Three Utah students named Presidential Scholars

Adobe Stock image

SALT LAKE CITY — Three Utah high school seniors have been named Presidential Scholars, according to an announcement Thursday by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

The Utah students include Taylor Fang, of Logan High School; Emma Grace Sun, of Waterford School in Sandy, and Moses Giles Samuelson-Lynn, of West Valley City, who is home-schooled.

The Utah students were among 161 students recognized nationally for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields. This is the 56th class of Presidential Scholars.

“It is my privilege to congratulate the Presidential Scholars Class of 2020 on their outstanding academic achievement, community service and leadership,” said DeVos in a statement.

“These exemplary young people have excelled inside the classroom and out. And, while they are facing unprecedented challenges as they graduate from high school into a world that looks much different than it did just a few months ago, their determination, resilience and commitment to excellence will serve them well as they pursue their next steps,” she said.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars based on academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Among 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, some 5,300 candidates qualified for the 2020 awards determined by their performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations and the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide competition.