The Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame has announced the bands and musicians elected to join its ranks at its 10th annual induction ceremony to be held at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York on Jan. 12. Out of 15 nominees, all of whom must have released a record at least 25 years ago, 7 are to be inducted.

View Comments

They are the Allman Brothers Band, Al Green, Janis Joplin, Led Zeppelin, Martha and the Vandellas, Neil Young and Frank Zappa. Those who didn't make the grade include the Jackson Five, Parliament-Funkadelic, the Velvet Underground and Buffalo Springfield (which included Neil Young).

Join the Conversation
Looking for comments?
Find comments in their new home! Click the buttons at the top or within the article to view them — or use the button below for quick access.