As most Taylor Swift fans know, 13 is the singer’s lucky number. Sunday night, Swift won her 13th Grammy award and surprised fans by announcing she would be releasing a new album in honor of the fans on April 19.

Swift won the award for best pop vocal album — her second time winning the award. In 2016, she won the same Grammy with “1989.”

Taylor Swift accepts the award for best pop vocal album for “Midnights” during the 66th annual Grammy Awards on Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024, in Los Angeles. | Chris Pizzello, Invision, Associated Press

During her acceptance speech for the award, she announced she would be releasing an album with all-new music on April 19, per Variety, saying:

“OK, this is my 13th Grammy, which is my lucky number. I don’t know if I’ve ever told you that. I want to say thank you to the members of the Recording Academy for voting this way, but I know that the way that the Recording Academy voted is a direct reflection of the passion of the fans. So I want to say thank you to the fans by telling you a secret that I have been keeping from you for the last two years, which is that my brand-new album comes out April 19th. It’s called ‘The Tortured Poets Department.’ I’m going to go and post the cover right now backstage. Thank you, I love you! Thank you!”

Taylor Swift made history by winning a Grammy for album of the year for a 4th time

What we know about Taylor Swift’s ‘The Tortured Poets Department’

True to her promise, right after the announcement, she posted more details to social media, including a link to her store to purchase the vinyl version of “The Tortured Poets Department.”

“All’s fair in love and poetry... New album THE TORTURED POETS DEPARTMENT. Out April 19,” the post read.

  • We know the album has 16 tracks and one bonus track.
  • Monday night, Swift released the track list for the album on her social media.
  • She teased some of the lyrics, including, “I love you. It’s ruining my live,” “All’s fair in love and poetry,” “My muses acquired like bruises,” “my talismans and charms” and “The tick tick tick of love bombs.”
  • She’s been working on it for two years.
  • Fans are already speculating that the title itself could be a reference to Swift’s ex-boyfriend actor Joe Alwyn, referring to a 2022 Variety interview that Alwyn said he, Paul Mescal and Andrew Scott share a WhatsApp group text titled “The Tortured Man Club.”

While Swifties are often “clowning” and claiming Swift is dropping hints to something new, there was good reason to believe something new really was happening on Sunday.

Sunday morning, Swift changed her profile picture on social media to a black and white version of the photo. And her site went dark with an error code. Super sleuth fans decrypted it to find that the source code was intentional and not an actual error.

Taylor Swift arrives at the 66th annual Grammy Awards on Sunday, Feb. 4, 2024, in Los Angeles. | Jordan Strauss, Invision, Associated Press

Swift liked a couple posts that figured out the clue. She also entered the show wearing a flowing white gown paired with long black gloves and sporting a choker necklace with a clock face showing 11:59.

The track list titles for Taylor Swift’s ‘The Tortured Poets Department’

Sunday night Swift only revealed the name for one song on the track list — “The Manuscript,” a bonus track to the album, according to her site. And Monday, she released the back cover of the vinyl with the names of all 17 songs.

Here’s the list:

  1. “Fortnight (feat. Post Malone).”
  2. “The Tortured Poets Department.”
  3. “My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys.”
  4. “Down Bad.”
  5. “So Long, London.”
  6. “But Daddy I Love Him.”
  7. “Fresh Out the Slammer.”
  8. “Florida!!! (feat. Florence and the Machine).”
  9. “Guilty as Sin?”
  10. “Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?”
  11. “I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can).”
  12. “LOML.”
  13. “I Can Do It With a Broken Heart.”
  14. “The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived.”
  15. “The Alchemy.”
  16. “Clara Bow.”
  17. “The Manuscript (Bonus Track).”

What we know about Apr. 19 and what it has to do with Taylor Swift

The day Swift will be dropping the new album seems notable to fans in the following ways:

  • On Apr. 19, 2022, Swift was photographed going to dinner with Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds, and shortly after, Reynolds and her brother, Austin Swift, proceeded to unfollow Alwyn on social media.
  • That day is also National Cat Lady Day, and Swift calls herself a cat lady, owning three cats.
  • The Revolutionary War started on Apr. 19, 1775, so some fans are speculating if it’s a reference to Swift shifting from dating a British man to an All-American one.
Why I drove from Salt Lake City to Los Angeles to listen to a Taylor Swift concert from the parking lot
Will Taylor Swift make it to the Super Bowl?
The year of Taylor Swift
The ubiquitous power of Taylor Swift