Sen. Orrin Hatch, R-Utah, and Sen. Bob Bennett, R-Utah, have announced the appointments of Chad Carlson and Kathleen Tundermann as Utah delegates to the 33rd annual U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C.

The two were named by Scott Bean, state superintendent of education.Carlson, of Layton, is senior class president at Layton High School. He also is on the varsity swim team, has earned three athletic letters, is a member of the National Honor Society and served as a delegate to the Utah State Engineering conference.

Tundermann, of Salt Lake City, attends Rowland Hall-St. Mark's High School, where she is junior class president. She is a member of the National Honor Society, community service council and national charity league.

Chosen as alternates for the program are Nicole Jefferies, who attends Woods Cross High School, and Thomas Kuo, who attends Brighton High School.

The delegates will spend a week in Washington studying the federal government and the Senate in particular. Each also will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. No public funds are spent in the program.