Without a bowl game to look forward to, the BYU Cougars are going to have to settle for having the most players on the Western Athletic Conference first team.

BYU led the WAC with six players on the All-WAC first team, including brothers John and Stan Raass.The University of Utah, meanwhile, only managed one player on the first team, junior Harold Lusk.

Brigham Young punt returner James Dye was selected special teams player of the year, and Utah running back Chris Fuamatu-Ma'afala was the freshman of the year.

Juniors Chad Lewis (tight end), Larry Moore (offensive lineman), Shay Muirbrook (linebacker) were the other Cougars to make the squad.

CSU and Wyoming had five players on the first team, followed by SDSU with four and Air Force with three.

San Diego State running back George Jones, Colorado State defensive end Brady Smith and Air Force coach Fisher DeBerry captured the top Western Athletic Conference awards for the 1995 season.

In voting by the league's 10 head coaches announced Tuesday, Jones was named the offensive player of the year, Smith the defensive player of the year and DeBerry the coach of the year.

Jones, a junior who rushed for a WAC-record 1,842 yards, received seven of a possible nine first-place votes; coaches could not vote for their own players. Air Force quarterback Beau Morgan was second in the voting, and Wyoming wide receiver Marcus Harris finished third.

Smith, a senior, led the nation with 15 sacks, breaking the school's single-season sack record and career sack record with 27.

"He made our defense go," CSU coach Sonny Lubick said.

Smith edged teammate Sean Moran, also a defensive end, for the defensive honor. Muirbrook was third.

DeBerry, who led the Falcons to an 8-4 record and Copper Bowl berth, won the coaching honor for the second time, having also won in 1985. He edged out Tollner, with Lubick finishing third and Utah's Ron McBride fourth.

Dye led the nation in punt returns with a 21.9-yard average. He prevailed over CSU's Greg Myers for the special-teams award.

Myers made the All-WAC first team for the fourth straight year.

Fuamatu-Ma'afala, who topped 100 yards in four games, won the freshman award over runnerup John Rayborn, a quarterback at Texas-El Paso.

Three Cougars and five Utes made the All-WAC second team. The BYU honorees are quarterback Steve Sarkisian, running back Hema Heimuli and defensive back Tim McTyer. For Utah, wide receiver Rocky Henry, tight end Henry Lusk, offensive lineman Chris Rae, defensive lineman Henry Kaufusi and placekicker Dan Pulsipher were selected.



All-WAC football

First team

Wide receivers

Will Blackwell SDSU So.

Marcus Harris Wyo. Jr.

Charlie Jones FSU Sr.

Tight end

Chad Lewis BYU Jr.

Offensive linemen

Bret Cillessen AFA Sr.

James Cregg CSU Sr.

Chris Finch SDSU Sr.

Larry Moore BYU Jr.

Steve Scifres Wyo. Jr.


Beau Morgan AFA Jr.

Running backs

George Jones SDSU Jr.

Winslow Oliver NM Sr.

Defensive linemen

Joe Cummings Wyo. Sr.

Sean Moran CSU Sr.

John Raass BYU Sr.

Brady Smith CSU Sr.


Michael Comer UTEP Jr.

Brian McCray AFA Sr.

Shay Muirbrook BYU Jr.

Stan Raass BYU Sr.

Defensive backs

Ray Jackson CSU Sr.

Harold Lusk Utah Jr.

Greg Myers CSU Sr.

Ricky Parker SDSU Jr.


Cory Wedel Wyo. So.


Brian Gragert Wyo. Sr.

Return specialist

James Dye BYU Jr.