SALT LAKE CITY — Latter-day Saint temples in Asia are beginning to reopen on a limited basis as pandemic restrictions ease, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced Monday.

Thursday church officials said that 17 temples would open only for living husband-and-wife sealing ordinances, also known as temple marriages. Monday’s announcement doubled the number to 34 beginning May 18, including the Seoul Korea Temple and Taiwan Taipei Temple.

17 Latter-day Saint temples to open for sealings on Monday, others to open in four phases
A complete list of temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
President Nelson: Church leaders will ‘cautiously move forward’ in decisions about temples, meetinghouses

Temples will open in four phases. The first phase is temple marriages conducted with a minimum of staff and participants based on local government restrictions.

Temple staff may be as small as two or three people and wedding participants are restricted to the bride, groom and a limited number of guests who are healthy and free of COVID-19 symptoms.

Monday’s updated list also includes the reopening of the Copenhagen Denmark Temple and another 14 in the United States.

Here is a full list of the temples that have entered Phase 1:

  • Atlanta Georgia
  • Billings Montana
  • Birmingham Alabama
  • Bismarck North Dakota
  • Boise Idaho
  • Bountiful Utah
  • Brigham City Utah
  • Cedar City Utah
  • Copenhagen Denmark
  • Frankfurt Germany
  • Freiberg Germany
  • Gilbert Arizona
  • Idaho Falls Idaho
  • Jordan River Utah
  • Logan Utah
  • Manti Utah
  • Memphis Tennessee
  • Monticello Utah
  • Nashville Tennessee
  • Ogden Utah
  • Oquirrh Mountain Utah
  • Payson Utah
  • Phoenix Arizona
  • Provo City Center
  • Provo Utah
  • Seoul Korea
  • Snowflake Arizona
  • Star Valley Wyoming
  • Stockholm Sweden
  • Taipei Taiwan
  • The Gila Valley Arizona
  • Tucson Arizona
  • Twin Falls Idaho
  • Winter Quarters Nebraska

Reopening phases

1 – Living husband-and-wife sealings by appointment

2 – All living ordinances by appointment

3 – All living and limited proxy ordinances by appointment

4 – All normal operations