Note: The Deseret News all-state teams are based on coaches votes from a list of nominated players from each team.

Artistry with a stick, Corner Canyon’s Mason Quick named 2022 Deseret News Mr. Lacrosse
High school boys lacrosse: Deseret News 2022 Players of the Year the backbone of their team’s tremendous success

5A Player of Year

Hutton Murphy, Olympus, Attack, Sr.

Led Olympus to 5A runner-up finish as he recorded 79 goals, 71 assists and 44 ground balls.

5A Playoff MVP

Chase Beyer, Park City, Attack, Jr.

5A First Team


Berkley Horoba, Alta, Jr. — 61 goals, 86 assists, 69 ground balls, 23 caused turnovers.

Hayden Hanson, Bountiful, Sr. — 102 goals, 24 assists, 81 ground balls.

Chase Beyer, Park City, Jr. — 38 goals, 16 assists, 30 ground balls.

Charlie Freedman, Timpview, Sr. — 59 goals, 51 assists, 87 ground balls.


Camden Rossi, Olympus, Sr. — 50 goals, 29 assists, 43 ground balls.

John Trahan, Park City, Sr. — 51 goals, 11 assists, 29 ground balls.

Ethan Hartsfield, Olympus, Jr. — 43 goals, 13 assists, 36 ground balls.

Casey Blackham, Alta, Jr. — 51 goals, 11 assists, 25 ground balls.

Long stick midfield

Cole Terry, Bountiful, Sr. — 21 goals, 21 assists, 226 ground balls, 80 takeaways.

Short stick defensive midfield

Brayden Beyer, Park City, Jr. — 61 ground balls, 16 caused turnovers.

Face-off specialist

Jack McHenry, Park City, Jr. — 74% faceoff percentage, 214 ground balls.


Tommy Barrus, Olympus, Sr. — 56 ground balls, 15 takeaways.

Andrew Parry, Alta, So. — 90 ground balls, 52 caused turnovers, 8 goals.

Jack Wall, Olympus, Sr. — 55 ground balls, 8 takeaways.

Jake Johanson, Brighton, Jr. — 21 caused turnovers, 26 ground balls.


Isaac Hanson, Brighton, Jr. — 57.5% save percentage, 171 saves.

Tommy Fraser, Viewmont, Sr. — 64% save percentage, 198 saves.

5A Second Team


Brendan Johnson, Park City, So.

Steele Cooper, Lehi, Sr.

Grayson Harris, Brighton, So.

Jamison Bain, Bountiful, Sr.


Jude Trahan, Park City, Sr.

Mason Egan, Alta, Jr.

Landon Buttars, Salem Hills, Sr.

Jack Taylor, East, Sr.

Long stick midfield

Sam Smith, Olympus, So.

Short stick defensive midfield

Ace Turley, Alta, Sr.

Face-off specialist

Josh Updike, Alta, Jr.


Keller Hopkins, Park City, Sr.

Tenoch Elggren, Bountiful, Sr.

Grant Rice, Timpview, Fr.

Cole Jorgenson, Wasatch, Sr.


Gunner Longenecker, East, Sr.

Harley Kenney, Alta, Jr.

5A Honorable Mention


Lo Tafisi, East, Sr.

Deacon Mearian, Alta, Jr.

Charlie Droitsch, Olympus, So.

James Bauer, Timpview, Fr.


Beckett Wolf, Park City, Jr.

Finnbar Williams, Timpview, Jr.

Ethan Erker, Wasatch, So.

David Parchmen, Jordan, Sr.

Long stick midfield

Sawyer Beck, Orem, Sr.

Andrew Hunt, Park City, Sr.

Short stick defensive midfield

Dale Herrod, Timpview, Sr.

Faletau Satuala, Bountiful, So.

Face-off specialist

McKay Winegar, Olympus, Sr.

Porter Hadley, Bountiful, Sr.


Jackson Stone, Wasatch, Jr.

Mitchell Dolato, Brighton, Sr.

Kenny James, Orem, Sr.

Adam Mabey, Bountiful, Jr.


Jamison Yocum, Timpview, So.

Aidan Rees, Wasatch, Sr.